The Metro-rate covers the following counties in Kansas: Atchison, Douglas, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami, Osage, Shawnee and Wyandotte.

We are delighted that with local attorney, Jessica Piedra’s help, UMKC took the lead on making this state-wide change.  What is more, UMKC has decided to enroll Deferred Action students at in-state tuition rates both for Missouri residents and those who would otherwise qualify for their “metro-rate” tuition.

Local Community Colleges are also following this lead!  The Metropolitan Community College system is enrolling Deferred Action students at in-state tuition rates.  It also appears that Deferred Action students should be eligible for the Missouri A+ scholarship as it also simply requires “lawful presence.”   The doors are opening for our immigrant youth in Missouri and beyond as institutions come to understand the Deferred Action program